RSS

Baking blog

16 Jun

I’ve decided that I want to start a bog about baking.  I’ve been doing a bit more baking the last few years, and I think I would like to keep track of things and share with people what I’ve been baking by doing it in blog form.  Of course, I probably won’t retroactively add things I’ve baked, but if I do them again, they’ll definitely be added to this blog.

It may shift from baking to cooking depending on my options.  I don’t really do as much baking as I’d like, but I do do a lot of cooking at home, and I love to experiment in the kitchen.  For now, I’m going to focus on the baking aspect of my cooking career, but who knows?

I’d also like to point out that I’m definitely not a professional when it comes to baking or cooking.  I have been experimenting more and more at home, and that has been a lot of fun.  One reason I don’t think I would ever pursue cooking as a career is because I’m not sure I’d want to go out into a restaurant, be told what to cook all day, and then have the energy to cook and experiment at home.  So for now, I”m a home cook/baker, and it’s going to stay that way!

I’m also going to be blogging about my trials cooking some of my favorite American recipes in the United Kingdom, where certain ingredients just aren’t available, and the things I try to do to adapt the recipe to work here.  Luckily, I do have a set of American measuring cups/spoons, so I can at least bake without having to convert cups of ingredients into grams.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Baking blog

  1. Kristine Thiltgen

    June 16, 2011 at 4:57 PM

    Very good Grant. I guess we’ll have to stock up on American ingredients next time we come.

     

Leave a Reply

 
